Damage Time

The strength of the novel lies not only in the depiction of a detailed future of hardship and privation, but in the expert characterisation of Shah: a lone figure whose origins leave him open to prejudice within the police department, and whose problematic relationship with an intersexual courtesan reveals his own deep-seated prejudices. Eric Brown, The Guardian
100% story with no added waffle that won’t let up from the beginning through to the end.
Falcata Times
Damage Time is a gritty near-future noir involving chilling mind ripping technologies, thrilling action and a memorable hero. Cybermage.

Cover for Damage Time by Chris Moore

“Damage Time is for science fiction readers who love “Homicide” or “The Wire,”

a gritty cop drama set in a future New York on the verge of collapse.

Pete Shah is a memorable hero and the memory rip technology will

make your skin crawl.”
– C.C. Finlay, author of The Patriot Witch and The Demon Redcoat

“If Charles Dickens had written a futuristic SF thriller, this would be it. Memorable characters, a page-turning plot, and a world that is far from and somehow like our own.”
– Christopher Barzak, author of One for Sorrow, and The Love We Share Without Knowing

It’s 2050 and sea-levels have swamped today’s coastal regions. New York City is protected by tidal barriers and the USA is bankrupt.

Detective Pervez (Pete) Shah serves with the NYPD’s Web Crimes Division as a Memory Association Specialist. When he’s accused of murdering a glamorous woman in a bar he must save himself, and find the killer…something made far harder when he is attacked and his own memories torn from him… 

Available in the UK and Rest of the World from October 7th, 2010.

Available in North America on October 26th 2010.

If you’re interested in a review copy, you can contact Angry Robot Books here.

And here are extracts for you to read: